S. Amir Kohan

OSHA – Two Types of Standards

The law provides for two types of safety and health standards. The agency has therefore developed its regulations and standards in those two categories.

Normal Standards. If OSHA determines that a specific standard is needed, any of several advisory committees may be called upon to develop specific recommendations.

There are two standing committees, and ad hoc committees may be appointed to examine special areas of concern to OSHA. All advisory committees, standing or ad hoc, must have members representing management, labor, and state agencies, as well as one or more designees of the secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS). The occupational safety and health professions and the general public also may be represented.

Emergency Temporary Standards. “Under certain limited conditions, OSHA is authorized to set emergency temporary standards that take effect immediately. First, OSHA must determine that workers are in grave danger due to exposure to toxic substances or agents determined to be toxic or physically harmful or to new hazards and that an emergency standard is needed to protect them. Then, OSHA publishes the emergency temporary standard in the Federal Register, where it also serves as a proposed permanent standard. It is then subject to the usual procedure for adopting a permanent standard except that a final ruling must be made within six months. The validity of an emergency temporary standard may be challenged in an appropriate U.S. Court of Appeals.”
For more information, see www.dol.gov/compliance/guide/osha.htm.

Discover more from S. Amir Kohan

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Discover more from S. Amir Kohan

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading