S. Amir Kohan

Five Group Development Stages

The five stages of group development developed by Bruce Tuckman are:

  1. Forming: superficial introductions and determining boundaries of acceptable behavior.
  2. Storming: the team must work through conflicts related to authority, vision and values, personality, and cultural differences.
  3. Norming: greater cooperation and more cohesion as the team establish norms for assignment completion, decision-making, and conflict resolution.
  4. Performing: involves effective and unified team performance as the team addresses its objectives. Conflicts are mostly resolved.
  5. Adjourning: this is the process of ending the group. Group members say goodbye to each other.

Discover more from S. Amir Kohan

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Discover more from S. Amir Kohan

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading